Non-dualistic Bible Verses I

October 28, 2006

The Bible is, of course, full of verses that are dualistic, i.e., they indicate the multiplity of things rather than their unity.  Perhaps the best example of a dualistic verse is from the Our Father: “Our Father who art in heaven.”  The implication of the verse is that God is not here with us, not Emmanuel, but somehwere else.  Another critical dualistic verse is: “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.”  The implication is that God is outside and separate from his creation, and, again, that heaven and earth are different, separate places. 

Without ignoring these passages, with some looking we can find other passages and Christian doctrines that suggest a non-dualistic universe.  Below are some.  As I find others, and as readers of this blog direct my attention to still more, I plan to update the list:

*  The Trinity: one and three forever

*  The incarnation: Christ both fully God and fully man.

*  Christian marriage: man and wife become one “so they are no longer two but one flesh”

*  Matthew 25: Christ identifies himself with the hungry, the naked, and the imprisoned

*  “It is no longer I who lives but Christ who lives in me.”

*  “Take, eat: this is my body.”

*  “Behold, the virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son.  They call his name Emmanuel, which is being interpeted ‘God with us.'”

*  When it’s all said and done, God will be “all in all.”

*  “The kingdom of God is at hand.”

* “The kingdom of God is within.”

*  “He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood lives in me and I in him.” 

*  “Have you been with me so long, Philip, and still you don’t know me?  Whoever has seen me has seen the Father.”

*  “Where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I.”

*  “Saul, Saul why do you persecute me?”  (Christ’s identification with the members of the Church.)

*  The notion, very prevalent in St. Paul, that the Church is the body of Christ and the people who make up the Church are members of Christ’s body.

*  “Martha, Martha, you are busy and troubled over many things.  One thing is needful.  Mary has chosen the better part, and it will not be taken from her.”

One Response to “Non-dualistic Bible Verses I”

  1. J. Aultman-Moore Says:

    While I like the kind of dialogue you wish to engage in here, I think you’re playing a bit fast and loose with the statements from various Christian sources being examples of non-dualist thinking. I mean, I don’t think that just any old calls to unity or statements of unity (whether of church or of God) necessarily mean non-duality.


Leave a Reply

